37.5% Engineer?

I have been thinking a lot lately. Am just writing something of what I have felt/thought/thinking right now…

-Am really looking forward to go home. (Now thats not surprising really, is it?)

-I just love my laptop.

-Its starting to get really cold here. And I don’t like it one tiny bit.

-My Comprehensive (endsem) exams are virtually over-there is only this “Rep Wri” remaining ( thats Technical Report Writing for you)

-I guarantee that no one can tell which stream of engineering I am pursuing if they have a look at my bookshelf. Its just impossible. Here is the list:

Organic Chemistry, Unix fundamentals, Programming in ANSI C, , Inorganic Chemistry, How to Solve it by a Computer, Introduction to Material Science and Engineering, Material science and Engineering-a First course, Signals and Systems, Programming in C, Basic Electrical Engineering, Technical report Writing, The C programming Language, Essentials of Management, The Intel Microprocessor, Measurement techniques -I (Biology,Chemistry and Physics) , Measurement Techniques -II, Differential Equations with Applications, Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering, An Introduction to the Mechanics of Solids.

Whew!

-Do I feel like I am already 37.5% of an engineer? Not really. In fact-not one bit! But then I think it willl all come after doing the core courses. This is something in the way BITS conducts its courses. They have a common course structure for all the engineering degrees for almost TWO years rather than the usual one year. So it is like after 2 years of doing engineering, one doesn’t know anything much about the subject he/she is supposed to study. Sometimes its really frustrating while sometimes I really think that it was for good. I made a list for myself of all the courses that I did upto now:

Sem-I

Thermodynamics, Maths-I (Advanced Calculus), Chemistry -I(Physical), Physics-I (Mechanics) , Biology (yes you read it right), Workshop Practice.

Sem-II

Maths-II (Linear Algebra and Complex Variables), Probability and Statistics, Engineering Graphics with Autocad, Chemistry-II(Organic), Physics -II(Electrodynamics), Computer Programming-I.

Sem-III

Maths-III(Differential Equations), Mechanics Of solids, Computer Programming-II, Electrical Sciences-I, Measurement techniques-!, Technical Report Writing.

So it is like I am “Jack of all Master of none”. Is it? Or will it give me an edge over the other engineers?  Whatever said and done, I am really glad that I got to study Biology. Seriously. I mean it.

-During these one and a half years, I am slowly but definitely arriving at the conclusion that  the location of BITS is a distinct Disadvantage rather than an Advantage as claimed by many. I so wish that it was near a city. ( Let the city be Mumbai 🙂 )

-FRIENDS is the greatest series ever produced. Period.

2 Responses to “37.5% Engineer?”

  1. siddharth Says:

    yup, feels that way when you have to study stuff you dont want to… there are good and bad sides to it…

    good luck with last exam

    and have you watched coupling?

  2. mattiebray76452 Says:

    i have pulsar 180 its super bike smooth riding it has good road grip i suggest my friends to purchase pulsar bikes Click http://s.intmainreturn0.com/oopf09160

Leave a comment